Sports Betting News

2023 MLB Postseason Awards Recap

After a regular season that saw some thrilling divisional races head to the final day of the season, the Texas Rangers dominated October and won their first World Series title ever in franchise history. After the season concludes, it’s time for the postseason awards, and then there will be a free agency frenzy.

There are some massive names available via free agency, so we expect a fun winter. Until then, here is a recap of the postseason awards announced by Major League Baseball for the 2023 season:

National League MVP: Ronald Acuna Jr., Atlanta Braves

Acuna was terrific all season, hitting .337 and blasting 41 home runs. He also stole 73 bases, completely dominating the game. The Braves were the best team in the league all season, that unfortunately fell short in the playoffs against Philadelphia.

Acuna also finished the season playing in 159 games, which is admirable for a star to not miss games. This was the second time in four seasons that a member of the Atlanta Braves won the award. Freddie Freeman took it down in 2020. Since then, Bryce Harper in 2021 and Paul Goldschmidt in 2022 were the winners.

American League MVP: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels

Ohtani wins his second Most Valuable Player award, and this is the fourth winner from the Angels in the last 8 seasons. Mike Trout won it in 2016 and 2019, while Ohtani took it down in 2021. Ohtani won the award back from Aaron Judge, who was the 2022 winner.

Despite being hurt for much of the season, Ohtani still led the American League in homeruns with 44. He also drove in 95 runs, and scored 102. The slugger was also good on the mound as a starting pitcher. Ohtani made 23 starts, and finished with a 10-5 record, and a 3.14 earned run average.

National League Cy Young: Blake Snell

Sandy Alcantara did not repeat as National League Cy Young. But, Blake Snell did win his second of his career. Hitters had a tough time hitting Snell this season, with a .181 batting average against him on the season. He made 12 scoreless starts on the season, which is the most since 1969. Snell also struck out 234 batters, and his strikeout was second in all of Major League Baseball. Unfortunately, his San Diego Padres failed to reach the postseason.

American League Cy Young: Gerrit Cole

Cole finally got one. After finishing runner up twice, the Yankees ace took home the hardware in 2023. Cole led the American League in earned run average, innings pitched and opponents batting average. Cole also allowed four runs total over his final five starts, which went 35 innings. The right hander also finished the season with a two hit shutout. He took the award from Justin Verlander, who won it in 2022.

National League Rookie of the Year: Corbin Carroll, Arizona Diamondbacks

Carroll hit 25 home runs and stole 54 bases on the season. That made him the first rookie to reach 25-50 in Major League Baseball history. Carroll and his Diamondbacks reached the postseason as the third wildcard.

Arizona stepped up their game and reached the World Series with the help of Carroll and many others. He was the first Arizona Rookie of the Year, and won the award by unanimous vote. Carroll joined the list of Michael Harris III, Jonathan India and Devin WIlliams as recent Rookie of the Year winners in the National League.

American League Rookie of the Year: Gunnar Henderson, Baltimore Orioles

Known as a great defender at a couple positions. Henderson was great at the plate as well. He hit 28 homeruns, nine triples and drove in 82 runs. He also scored 100 runs on the season. Henderson wins the award behind several really good Major League Baseball players. Dating back to 2018 when Shohei Ohtani won it, followed by Yordan Alvarez, Kyle Lewis, Randy Arozarena and Julio Rodriguez.

National League Manager of the Year: Skip Schumaker, Miami Marlins

In his first year as a manager in Major League Baseball, Schumacher led his team to the postseason for the fourth time in team history. The Marlins were an impressive 33-14 in one run games. He is the first Marlins manager to win the award since Don Mattingly in 2020. Before that, Joe GIrardi won it in 2006 and Jack McKeon took the award in 2003.

American League Manager of the Year: Brandon Hyde, Baltimore Orioles

The job Brandon Hyde did with the Baltimore Orioles was outstanding. Two years after his team lost 110 games, Hyde led them to 101 wins. The Orioles won the American League East as well. While they struggled in the postseason, this is a team that will be picked to go deep in the 2024 season. Hyde is the first Baltimore Orioles manager to win the award since Buck Showalter back in 2014. A season ago, Terry Francona won the award for the third time in 10 seasons. Kevin Cash won it back to back seasons before that.

There are your big four winners in each the American League and National League. That’s a wrap on the 2023 Major League Baseball season. We will be back soon with our too early betting odds to win the 2024 World Series!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *